About Costa Rica

A mere 51 100 square kilometres of national territory harbour an incredible diversity of wildlife, landscapes and memorable experiences! Costa Rica’s privileged location between two oceans, separated by soaring mountains, promotes a great variety of climates and habitats that are often found at only a few kilometres’ distance from each other.

P1010162ara klein

Scarlet Macaw

Having recognised its potential, Costa Rica plays a leading role in the protection of the environment. Apart from recycling projects and initiatives for sustainable tourism, Costa Rica has established and safeguards vast national parks in all parts and climate zones of the country.

Costa Rica is well suited as a destination year round. The dry season in the Pacific Ocean region and the capital San José starts in November/December and runs until May. However, the green season, which is generally referred to as the “winter”, is also well suited for travelling these parts of the country. The temperatures do not change significantly. As a rule of thumb, in the so-called “winter” a dry and sunny morning is followed by a rain shower in the course of the afternoon.

The Caribbean region is complicated. It is completely unpredictable. At any time of the year, the region can be all sunshine … or the complete opposite. In exchange, nature rewards us with lush rainforests. In September and October, when the rainfalls reach their climax in most parts of the country, the Caribbean coast, just to make its point it seems, often puts on a show of sunny weather.

Junger Leguan

Juvenile Iguana

Costa Rica is a challenge for those that study the weather or attempt to predict it. Occasionally, one end of a valley is flooded with torrential downpours, while the other end invites you to stroll down the street for an ice-cream. In short, there are no fast guidelines to determine the most favourable season or region for paragliding. The dry season presents itself as a logical solution. However, it is also more prone to unfavourable winds. We have all learned this lesson: Those who take to the skies without the aid of an engine learn to love and respect capricious Mother Nature, for better or worse.

In its Central American setting, Costa Rica is a highly developed country with a stable economic and political background. These are all ingredients for a carefree and uncomplicated holiday in a beautiful destination. Then again, as it so often happens, high standards go hand in hand with a corresponding price tag. Do not be surprised to find that many prices are quite similar to what you would pay back home. All major credit cards are accepted. In addition to the local currency Colones, the US dollar is widely accepted everywhere.

No special vaccinations or health issues need to cloud you mind when visiting Costa Rica. European or US citizen do not need to apply for a visa.

Costa Rica is blessed in abundance with mountains, twisting roads and construction sites. You should not underestimate driving times.

And finally, to raise your appetite for Costa Rica, here is a promotional clip released by the Costa Rican tourism bureau: (links to external content on Youtube)

Über Costa Rica

Auf nur 51 100 Quadratkilometern Fläche bietet Costa Rica eine unglaubliche landschaftliche Abwechslung und Artenvielfalt. Die privilegierte Lage zwischen zwei Weltmeeren, geteilt von hohen Bergen sorgt für eine Reihe von Klimazonen und Lebensräumen, die oftmals nur von wenigen Kilometern Luftlinie getrennt werden.

P1010162ara klein

Roter Ara

Darüber hinaus ist Costa Rica führend im Bereich Umweltschutz. Neben Recyclingprojekten und Initiativen zur Förderung des nachhaltigen Tourismus bedeutet dies auch, dass Costa Rica in allen Regionen und Klimazonen weitläufige Nationalparks eingerichtet hat.

Costa Rica kann das ganze Jahr über bereist werden. Für den pazifischen Raum und die Hauptstadt beginnt die beste Reisezeit im November/Dezember und reicht bis Mai. Aber auch in der grünen Jahreszeit, die landläufig als „Winter“ bezeichnet wird, kann man diese Regionen bereisen. Die Temperaturen bleiben in etwa gleich, lediglich ist in der Regel nach einem trockenen Vormittag am Nachmittag mit Regen zu rechnen.

Der karibische Raum verhält sich wie der April in Europa: Er macht was er will! Zu jeder Zeit im Jahr kann dort die Sonne scheinen, oder auch nicht. Dafür belohnt uns die Natur mit besonders üppiger Vegetation. An der Küste sind die trockensten Monate sogar oftmals der September und Oktober, die mit zu den regenreichsten im Rest des Landes zählen.

Junger Leguan

Junger Leguan

Für Klimatologen ist Costa Rica eine Herausforderung und mitunter kommt es vor, dass an einem Ende eines Tals die Sonne scheint, während es am anderen Ende regnet. Entsprechend kann man auch für die Bedingungen zum Fliegen keine 100%-igen Richtlinien erstellen. Während man auf die trockenste Jahreszeit setzen mag, ist es möglich, dass gerade in dieser die Windrichtung nicht perfekt passt. Aber das kennen wir schließlich alle: Wer ohne Motor in die Lüfte will, der muss die Natur als mitunter launische Partnerin lieben und schätzen lernen.

Costa Rica ist ein für mittelamerikanische Verhältnisse politisch stabiles, wirtschaftlich gesundes und hoch entwickeltes Land. Alles Zutaten für eine schöne und unkomplizierte Reise. Gleichzeitig geht dies allerdings auch mit einem Preisniveau einher, welches mit dem von beispielsweise Deutschland in vielen Bereichen durchaus zu vergleichen ist. Es werden alle gängigen Kreditkarten akzeptiert und neben der einheimischen Währung Colones wird auch der US Dollar überall angenommen.

Für Costa Rica sind keine speziellen Impfungen notwendig. Ein Visum muss nicht beantragt werden. Costa Rica ist besonders reich gesegnet mit Bergen, Kurven und Baustellen. Die Fahrzeiten sollten nicht unterschätzt werden.

Und um Lust auf das Land zu machen, sind hier noch ein offizielles Video mit Impressionen in Zeitlupe des costa ricanischen Tourismusbüros: Viel Spaß!  (verlinkt auf fremde Inhalte bei Youtube)